10
Aug
13

It’s Time to Honor Myself

Apparently, summertime is awards season. Awards season for Awesomely Shitty. That’s right, fuckos, I got not one, but two blogging awards. Hells yeah! I rule! Ahem. Okay, sure they were given to me by regular visitors, but it still counts. It’s not like the Academy is made up of anything but peers, anyway. I just count myself fortunate that so many people read my blog and don’t want to murder me. It’s amazing, really.

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is given to a blogger who has less than 200 followers. Liebster in German means “beloved, favorite, dearest.” The goal of the Liebster Award is the help new or growing blogs connect with other bloggers. It’s a good way for readers to discover new blogs. I was given this award from Sidekick Reviews. It’s a great blog that I highly recommend checking out. I appreciate the award, thanks a lot.

The rules for Liebster Award recipients:

  1. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  2. Answer the questions that were asked of you (by the blogger that nominated you)
  3. Nominate 11 other blogs for the Liebster Award and include a link to their blogs.
  4. Notify the bloggers of their award.
  5. Ask the award winners 11 questions to answer once they accept the award.

Here are the random facts: 

  1. I originally had a blog dedicated to anime called Brik’s Haus. One day it crashed, and I could no longer log in anymore. I still had a desire to blog, but broadened my scope. Thus, Awesomely Shitty was born.
  2. Yes, I actually am a doctor.
  3. I am mildly obsessed with Domo-kun.
  4. I am also mildly obsessed with Gordon Ramsay and all of his various TV shows.
  5. I have owned every Nintendo console with the exception of the recently released Wii U. My favorite is probably the Super NES, followed closely by the Wii.
  6. Despite the love-hate relationship I have with them, I have played and completed every Metal Gear game multiple times.
  7. My favorite thing to do when I get home from work is read Film Drunk.
  8. I voted for Nicolas Cage for president in the 2012 election.
  9. I know all of the words to American Pie and Bohemian Rhapsody.
  10. My movie collection comprises nearly 400 dvds and blu-rays.
  11. I shot a man in Reno just to watch him die.

Here are my questions:

1.) What’s your initial reaction to receiving the blogger nomination?

Cool! I can’t believe someone actually reads my blog!

2.) What motivates you to keep blogging?

The possibility that some day Michael Bay will read one of my reviews, and he will break down in tears.

3.) Do you collect anything, if so what is your most beloved possession?

As mentioned in the random facts section, I collect movies. My collection actually is made up of movies, TV shows, and anime. I don’t really have a “most beloved possession.” But I do have several rare, out-of-print items that make me happy.

4.) What’s a movie or song that made you cry?

Movies and songs don’t make me cry. I’m a man.

5.) Do you have any siblings?

No. I don’t think the world could handle it.

6.) What do you love to eat?

Sushi. More specifically, whale sushi. For real. I have actually eaten whale sushi, and I totally loved it.

7.) Which comic book or novel would you recommend me to read?

A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole. It’s a fantastic, hysterical book that is completely underappreciated. Supposedly, they have been trying to make a movie out of it for years, but the stars keep on dying (e.g. John Belushi, John Candy, and Chris Farley).

8.) What are you favorite television shows that have gone off the air?

For shows that were prematurely cancelled, it’s definitely Twin Peaks. It was decades ahead of its time. If it aired today, it would probably be a massive hit. In terms of having a great run, I’d say Stargate SG-1. I watched it from the first day it aired until the day it ended. I was always a big fan. Finally, in terms of flawed but cool, I’d go with Fringe. If you are a regular reader of this blog, you know I loved this show.

9.) Do you play sports?

Is sex considered a sport? If so, then no.

10.) If you could give one piece of advice to other writers/bloggers, what would it be?

Keep on writing even if nobody ever leaves any comments.

11.) Who is your favorite sidekick?

Chewbacca, of course.

Here are 11 bloggers I have nominated for this award (I don’t really know if all these people have less than 200 followers):

And now for my questions to you:

  1. What is something popular that you can’t stand?
  2. What is your favorite movie?
  3. What is your favorite TV show?
  4. What is the last movie you walked out on?
  5. Is it better to have loved and lost, or never to have loved at all?
  6. If you were Nicolas Cage for a day, what would you do?
  7. Who is an infamous historical figure you would have dinner with?
  8. What book do you wish would be turned into a movie?
  9. Which drink do you choose at the cinema, and why?
  10. What is the greatest comedy film ever made? If you did not choose Monty Python and the Holy Grail, why did you choose an incorrect answer?
  11. If a large organization offered to syndicate your blog, would you sell out?

The Sunshine Award

Of course, when you think of Awesomely Shitty, you immediately think of Sunshine. To put it succinctly, “The Sunshine Award is presented to bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” I was given this award from Jaina over at Time Well Spent. I appreciate the award, thanks a lot.

The rules for Sunshine Award recipients:

  1. Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.
  2. Link to the person who nominated you.
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself (use these or come up with your own).
  4. Nominate 10 bloggers.
  5. Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

Here are my questions:

1.) Favorite actor who is not a household name?

That’s a tough one. I’d have to go with John Noble, who brilliantly portrayed Dr. Walter Bishop on Fringe. He played, like, seven different version of the same character. He was amazing. The fact that he never received a single Emmy nomination for acting is a goddamn travesty.

2.) Favorite food?

See above, the aforementioned whale sushi.

3.) Favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Drinks without alcohol? Do such things really exist?

4.) Favorite animal?

Pugs, of course. The more raging, the better.

5.) Favorite number?

Is this a real question? I’m going to ignore it and answer one of my questions from above, number 7. I’d have dinner with Hitler. We’d probably eat something light, like a chicken caesar salad. I’d ask him about his art career, and what it was like growing up in Austria-Hungary. I’d probably round out the meal by asking him for advice on improving my public speaking skills.

6.) Favorite color?

Red.

7.) What is your passion?

Writing, watching movies, masturbation.

8.) Favorite day of the week?

Any day that I don’t have to go to work. Usually, the weekends.

9.) Favorite unknown movie or TV show?

I have been a long-time fan of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. I have been trying to get people to watch it for years. Now, I suppose it isn’t “unknown” any longer. So, I guess I’ll advocate for Bob’s Burgers. It’s a hilarious animated comedy currently airing on Fox. It’s a breath of fresh air after watching all those shitty Seth MacFarlane shows.

10.) Favorite soundtrack of 2013?

I really don’t pay much attention to soundtracks unless they are very unique. I’m going to cheat for this one, and list my most recent favorite film soundtrack. That would have to be from the 2011 movie Drive. It was really incredible, and helped create a unique atmosphere for the film.

Here are the bloggers I have nominated for this award (OK, yes, I cheated and almost reproduced the above list exactly, so sue me):

That’s it! I’d like to thank myself for winning these prestigious awards! I dedicate all the time, effort, and creativity to myself. If you’d like to heap more awards (or better yet, money) onto me, feel free.

14 Responses to “It’s Time to Honor Myself”


  1. August 10, 2013 at 10:11 am

    LOL @ the thought of Brik getting a “Sunshine” award. :D You are a ray of sunshine, Brik. You and %#$&ing Annie. LOL :D

    Anyways, I could cop out and disqualify myself based on the less than 200 followers criteria. Instead, I’ll just selectively answet your questions here, how’s that?

    2.What is your favorite movie?

    The Godfather

    3.What is your favorite TV show?

    The Wire

    4.What is the last movie you walked out on?

    I don’t walk out on movies. If I’m in, Im in to the bitter end.

    6.If you were Nicolas Cage for a day, what would you do?

    Buy my issue of Action Comics #1 back

    8.What book do you wish would be turned into a movie?

    I don’t really read much…

    9.Which drink do you choose at the cinema, and why?

    Water. I’m at the movies too much to drink that much soda.

    10.What is the greatest comedy film ever made? If you did not choose Monty Python and the Holy Grail, why did you choose an incorrect answer?

    I’m feeling “Caddyshack” today, so lets go with that

    11.If a large organization offered to syndicate your blog, would you sell out?

    Faster than you can imagine. LOL

    • August 10, 2013 at 11:39 am

      Hey, Fogs. Yeah, I’m a ray of sunshine, that’s what all my commentors keep telling me. You know, I’ve never walked out on a movie, myself. If I did, I wouldn’t have fodder for my posts. Out of all the other people I gave the award to, I figured you were probably the one who had over 200 followers. Oh well. Hey, you still deserve it!

  2. August 10, 2013 at 10:25 am

    You’ve reminded me that I really need to watch more Fringe. I got about halfway through series one, then Uni took over and since then just…ugh. Need to watch it! Mainly because, yes, Walter is just awesome. And freaky. But mainly awesome. And I used to watch SG1 as a kid. When I came back from Uni last year, it was on on-demand, watched it with my mum who asked ‘What is this?’ when she walked in. Then pointed out Teal’c (yes I looked that up) and said “Isn’t he a good guy?” when watching the first episode. I was so proud of her. Congratulations on the awards, and thank you for adding to my ever growing list of blogs to check out.

    • August 10, 2013 at 11:40 am

      You should pick up Fringe again. The first season is a little rocky. Once it hits its stride, though, it gets excellent. And then you have the amazing seasons 2 and 3 to look forward to. Give it a second chance!

      • August 10, 2013 at 11:52 am

        Yeah I’ve heard lots of great things about it, and every time I see a hint of what might happen further on, I’m like “Man, I need to catch up with that.” Once I finish series one of Arrow, I will get on it.

  3. 6 Devin Doiron
    August 10, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Great job Brik! You’re finally moving on up. :D Can anything really beat the SNES?

    My response to your responses (That nobody asked for…)

    1. What is something popular that you can’t stand?
    M’oe. Seriously, fuck that garbage.

    2. What is your favorite movie?
    I really like Mulholland Drive. Such a simple film when you know the big picture, but all the better for it. The Llarando scene stills gives me chills.

    3. What is your favorite TV show?
    The Simpsons – Season’s 1-8. Those first eight seasons will always be the prove.

    3. What is the last movie you walked out on?
    Like Fogs, I never walk out. I’m… Too cheap to do that.

    4. Is it better to have loved and lost, or never to have loved at all?
    Maybe, but at least with the latter you can never feel that pain (probably too busy jerking it on 4Chan to notice.)

    5. If you were Nicolas Cage for a day, what would you do?
    “Hey, Quintin! Ready to make a movie together?”

    6. Who is an infamous historical figure you would have dinner with?
    Napoleon Bonaparte. I’d have Yams. He’d probably have something from the kids menu.

    7. What book do you wish would be turned into a movie?
    “The Things They Carried”. It would make for a decent drama, I guess.

    8. Which drink do you choose at the cinema, and why?
    Dr. Pepper

    9. What is the greatest comedy film ever made? If you did not choose Monty Python and the Holy Grail, why did you choose an incorrect answer?
    That’s not “The Big Lebowski”!

    10. If a large organization offered to syndicate your blog, would you sell out?
    First I’d have to have a blog.

    • August 10, 2013 at 11:42 am

      Hey, Devin. Thanks for dropping in. I’m glad you answered the questions even if you don’t have a blog. It’s fun to read everyone’s answers. Napoleon is a great answer. I read a biography of his life a couple years ago, and became kind of obsessed with him for a while. If they made an accurate movie about his life, people wouldn’t believe it, it’s too incredible to think it’s true.

  4. 8 WL
    August 10, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Wow, awards. That’s very cool. I actually had a blog before. Two of ‘em, actually. But I realized that blogging is not just about having thoughts on things, but you also have to write them down, give it a title, sometimes look for some pictures and do a research… oh god… So yeah, to me bloggers are all heroes, for they can endure all this effort just for a modicum of recognition and self-entitlement on the internet. Dumb bastard heroes.

    • August 10, 2013 at 4:06 pm

      I’m not so sure that bloggers are heroes, but it does take a lot of dedication to keep on writing for such a minuscule response. But there is something fun about it. And, of course, the dream that Michael Bay will see all of this some day.

  5. August 11, 2013 at 10:51 am

    John Noble – damn good choice. Feeling gutted I didn’t think of him actually. God damn you, Brik.

    And your advice telling bloggers to keep blogging is key. Just keep swimming!

  6. August 12, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Thank you Brik for the nomination! Great reading your answers. Here’s my reply:

    1.) Favorite actor who is not a household name?
    Having just watched Battle Royale: Chiaki Kuriyama. She’s also the crazy school girl in Kill Bill.

    2.) Favorite food?

    Sushi: Unagi and Beef Brisket Curry

    3.) Favorite non-alcoholic drink?

    Blueberry and Strawberry Smoothie

    4.) Favorite animal?

    Crocodiles are not my favorite, but I’m fascinated by them and a bit terrified too.

    5.) Favorite number?

    17; that’s one my lottery numbers

    6.) Favorite color?

    Blue

    7.) What is your passion?

    Watching TV, playing video games haha.

    8.) Favorite day of the week?

    Fridays.

    9.) Favorite unknown movie or TV show?

    An animated show called Gargoyles was pretty good. It was voiced by the cast of Star Trek: TNG.

    10.) Favorite soundtrack of 2013?

    I don’t have a fave soundtrack of 2013.


Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

BrikHaus - Find me on Bloggers.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

